

LEWISHAM SCHOOLS FORUM

Minutes of the meeting held on Thursday 6th May 2021

Membership (Quorum = 40% i.e. 9) \checkmark = present x =absent x =apologies x = substitute

		Attendance				
Primary School Headteachers		15/ 10	10/ 12	19/ 01	06/ 05	Date of Appointment
Paul Moriarty	Good Shepherd	×	а	✓	а	Dec 2018
Manda George	Torridon Primary	√	а	√	√	Dec 2018
Sharon Lynch	St William of York	√	√	√	√	Dec 2018
Keith Barr	Kender	√	√	√	√	Dec 2018
Matthew Ringham	Our Lady & St Philip Neri	√	√	✓	✓	Dec 2018
David Lucas	Trinity			√	√	Jan 2021
Maxine Osbaldeston	Launcelot			✓	√	Jan 2021
Nursery School Headteacher						
Nikki Oldhams	Chelwood Nursery	✓	✓	✓	а	Oct 2020
Secondary School Headteachers						
Naill Hand	Prendergast Ladywell	√	√	√	√	July 2019
VACANT						
Mark Phillips	Deptford Green	√	а	√	✓	Jan 2020
VACANT						

Special School						
Headteacher						
Lynne Haines	Greenvale	✓	✓	✓	√	Oct 2018
Pupil Referral Unit Headteacher						
Heather Johnston	Abbey Manor	√	√	√	√	Dec 2020
Primary School Governors						
Rosamund Clarke	Perrymount	✓	√	✓	✓	Dec 2018
VACANT						
Secondary & Special School Governors						
Pat Barber	Bonus Pastor	√	а	а	√	Dec 2018
VACANT						
VACANT						
Academies						
Dr Tesca Bennett	Haberdashers' Knights Academy	√	а	√	а	Oct 2018
VACANT						
14-19 Consortium Rep						
Asfa Sohail	Lewisham Southwark College	√	V	√	√	Mar 2019
Early Years - PVI						
VACANT						
Diocesan Authorities						
Sara Sanbrook- Davies	Southwark Diocesan Board of Education	V	а	√	√	Dec 2019
Yvonne Epale	Education Commission – Catholic Diocese of Southwark	√	а	√	√	May 2021- re-elected

Lynne Haines	Forum Chair	√	√	√	√	Oct 2017
Keith Barr	Forum Vice-Chair	√	√	√	√	Oct 2017

Also Present/Observers	Role
Pinaki Ghoshal	Executive Director – CYP
Kathy Freeman	Director – Corporate Resources
Angela Scattergood	Director - CYP
Mala Dadlani	Group Finance Manager
Lurenco Reynolds-Moxam	Principal Accountant
Anne Gibson	LB Lewisham
Kim Knappett	National Education Union
Tony Marnham	Leathersellers Federation
Jonathan Ronan	Bonus Pastor
Dipesh Gajmer	Clerk

1. Apologies and Acceptance of Apologies

Apologies from Paul Moriarty, Nikki Oldhams, Dr Tesca Bennett.

2. Declaration of Interests

None.

3. Term Time Only Compensation

Anne Gibson gave a presentation to provide background and context to the TTO claim and the current position on discussion with the Trade Unions

Mala Dadlani updated Schools forum on the potential financial position arising as a consequence Schools forum approved the following:

Schools forum supported the following decisions in principle:-

- Nursery Schools 100% of cost to be met from with resources available with no expectation on the Nursery Schools;
- Special Schools and PRU Recognition that due to the operational nature of these schools which requires a higher reliance on staffing that is likely to be in scope, that 80% should be supported with schools meeting 20% of their individual liability;

- re-prioritisation of resources Schools forum agreed to the reprioritisation of resources of circa £1m towards reducing the burden on individual schools; and
- Schools Forum agreed not to support falling rolls for 2021/22.

Schools forum also agreed for:-

- An urgent meeting with Schools to provide an update; and
- Specific meeting with schools who are not on the Lewisham Payroll system.

4. Any Other Business

None

Future meetings -

10/06/2021 21/10/202, 16/12/2021 20/01/2022 (provisional)

All Schools Forum meetings will be held between 16.30 and 18.30

SCHOOLS FORUM ACTION SUMMARY

ITEM	ACTION TO BE TAKEN	OFFICER (S) RESPONSIBLE	OUTCOME/ CURRENT POSITION
3 – Term Time Only Compensation	Urgent meeting with Schools to provide an update; Specific meeting with schools who are not on the Council's payroll.	Mala Dadlani	Pending